Meet the team

We treat you the way we would like to be treated and welcome all identities

Food For The Soul Project Society in Maple Ridge and Abbotsford

Aida (founder of Food For The Soul)

I have worked with socioeconomically disadvantaged populations for 13 years all over the Lower Mainland.

I love getting creative on how we can help each individual. I love the challenge of working through the different barriers within our health system and individually created barriers each patient creates on their journey (we all create our own barriers, it is great to have support to notice and share healthy feedback for growth and alignment). I enjoy watching people succeed and continue to look for different ways to build bridges of support for our patients and community members. 

Outside of work I love being with my family and nature. Not so much hiking but just being by streams or forest walks. Taking kids on road trips and watching their creative minds explore the world.

Shannon (resource centre and outreach manager)

I have worked with socioeconomically disadvantaged populations for over 10 years ranging from children, youth and adults. Through my lived and work experience I feel like working with adults with mental health and addiction is the population I am most passionate about.

Coming to work does not feel like work. Being able to connect with individuals on a deeper level, learning their stories and backgrounds is truly a humbling and privileged experience. I love how everyday is different and how much I have grown and learnt through this journey.

When I’m not working I love spending time with my family, watching my children grow into little men. I also absolutely love anything fitness related and reading, there is never a day that I do not have a book on the go!

Michelle (resource centre support worker)

I have worked with our socioeconomically disadvantaged population in Maple Ridge for about a year.

What do I enjoy most about my work? I love being the first point of contact. Connecting, building relationships and giving services to our vulnerable fellow community members.

Outside of work I love being with my 3 beautiful children, nature, creativity, yard work, yoga and a good cozy movie night.

Derek (outreach worker)

I recently graduated from college where I received a diploma in community support work and mental health. This is my first year working professionally with people in recovery and I am 2 years into my own recovery journey. 

What I enjoy most about this work is seeing the positive change in people. It is such a gift to be a part of someone’s journey from homelessness back to a life of being a productive member of society. 

Outside of work I am a busy guy. I have two beautiful daughters whom I adore and a lovely girlfriend. I am physically active and spend a lot of time outdoors and at the gym. If you don’t use it, you lose it!

Scroll to Top